Conroe Felony DWI Attorney
Have You Been Charged with a Felony DWI?
DWI offenses are heavily punished in the state of Texas. If you have been
arrested and charged with a felony DWI offense, you may face severe, life-changing
consequences. In cases of felony DWI charges, you need to contact a
Conroe DWI attorney as soon as possible. Douglas W. Atkinson, Attorney at Law, has been
defending clients charged with drunk driving since 1998.
You can count on him to seek out any advantage for you and to help you fight to avoid a felony
conviction. He has extensive trial experience and is recognized as an
aggressive defender that gets results.
initial consultation with our attorney today.
When a DWI Charge is a Felony
In Texas, a third DWI charge will be filed as a 3rd degree felony. A first and second DWI is filed as a misdemeanor in most
cases, but the level of charge and the penalties are increased for those
who are considered to be "habitual offenders." A third DWI charge
will be filed as a felony.
There are also cases in which a person can be charged with a felony on
the first or second DWI conviction, including:
- Driving while intoxicated with a minor passenger 15 years of age or younger
- A DWI involving a car accident which results in bodily injury
In these cases, a conviction could result in up to 10 years in jail and
thousands of dollars in fines. If you are arrested, it is vital that you
get defense counsel on your side immediately. Your future freedom could
depend upon the dedication of the Conroe DWI lawyer representing you,
and the skill with which your defense case is crafted.
There may have been an error by police, in the testing performed upon your
breath or blood, or you may have had your rights violated. You must have
experienced attorney that has a proven record of success in defending
DWI cases on your side at once.